PIRATA

Prediction and Research Moored Array in the Tropical Atlantic

A propos de PIRATA

Le programme expérimental PIRATA (qui, à l'origine, signifiait "Pilot Research morred Array in the Tropical Atlantic" et dénommé depuis 2008 "Prediction and Research Moored Array in the Tropical Atlantic" ) a été mis en place en 1997 dans l'océan Atlantique tropical (Servain et al. 1998). Il s'est développé dans le cadre du programme international CLIVAR (CLImatic VARiability and predictability) et implique des équipes scientifiques de trois pays : la France (IRD, maître d'oeuvre des campagnes à la mer et coordination, Météo France, et avec la participation de l'IFREMER et de l'INSU/CNRS), le Brésil (DHN et INPE) et les USA (NOAA/PMEL). Les supports financiers du programme proviennent de l'IRD, Météo France, de l'Observatoire Midi-Pyrénées/Université Paul Sabatier et ponctuellement de l'INSU/CNRS

Les principales questions scientifiques motivant le programme PIRATA sont:

  1. Quels sont les mécanismes de forçage et de couplage entre les composantes atmosphérique et océanique sur l'Atlantique tropical ? En particulier quels sont les mécanismes de contrôle de la température de surface de la mer (SST) ? Et quels sont les mécanismes de contrôle des flux de chaleur entre l'océan et l'atmosphère?
  2. Quelles sont les influences de ces flux de chaleur (et de quantités de mouvement : le vent) sur la variabilité (position, intensité) de la Zone InterTropicale de Convergence des Alizés (ITCZ), sur les systèmes convectifs du Golfe de Guinée (et sur la mousson de l'Afrique de l'Ouest) et de la région ouest du bassin (Amérique du Sud, Nordeste brésilien, Caraïbes ...) ?
  3. Quelle est la relation entre la variabilité de la SST et celle du contenu thermique en Atlantique tropical, et quelle est son influence sur les divers modes de variabilité de cette région ? Quelle est en particulier le lien dynamique entre les zones nord et sud du mode de variabilité méridien de l'Atlantique et entre celui-ci et le mode équatorial ?
  4. Quelles sont les téléconnexions et leurs mécanismes entre la variabilité dans la région de l'Atlantique tropical et la variabilité dans d'autres régions (El Niño Southern Oscillation, North Atlantic Oscillation, variabilité en Atlantique sud ...) ?

Dans ce cadre, le programme PIRATA a plus spécifiquement pour objectifs scientifiques :

  • D'améliorer la description de la variabilité saisonnière à interannuelle dans la couche supérieure (de la surface à 500 m de profondeur) de l'Atlantique tropical ;
  • D'améliorer notre compréhension des contributions relatives des flux de surface et de la dynamique océanique dans la variabilité de la SST et du contenu thermique de subsurface aux échelles saisonnières et interannuelles ;
  • De fournir un ensemble de données qui pourra être utilisé pour développer et améliorer les modèles de prévision du système couplé océan-atmosphère.
  • De documenter les interactions entre le climat de l'Atlantique tropical et la variabilité à l'extérieur de la région (E.G. ENSO ou l'oscillation Nord Atlantique);
  • De maintenir (et si possible développer) un réseau de bouées océaniques et de collecter et transmettre un jeu de données océaniques et atmosphériques, en temps réel via satellites, afin de suivre et d'étudier l'océan superficiel et l'atmosphère en Atlantique tropical et d'alimenter en données in situ les systèmes opérationnels.

Après une phase "pilote" de 1997 à 2001, le programme est passé à une phase de consolidation jusqu'à fin 2006, qui a été prolongée jusqu'en Février 2008. Un PIRATA Resources Board (PRB) a été constitué en 1999 pour répondre aux objectifs d'engagements (financiers, humains, moyens en navire, ...) de chacun des principaux instituts partenaires du Programme PIRATA. Un Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) a été signé officiellement en Août 2001 par les représentants des divers partenaires. Ce MoU engageait la responsabilité des divers instituts partenaires durant toute la phase de consolidation du programme PIRATA (2001-2006 puis 2008). De 2006 à 2008, suite à une évaluation scientifique très positive du programme par CLIVAR et OOPC (établie à partir du document Bourlès et al., 2006), un nouveau Memorandum of Understanding, liant les quatre organismes principaux du programme (France: IRD et Météo-France ; Brésil: INPE ; et USA: NOAA) a été rédigé et signé par les partenaires le 2 Février 2009 lors du meeting PIRATA 14 organisé à Toulouse (voir le rapport du meeting PIRATA-14), assurant ainsi la maintenance du programme jusqu'en 2013. C'est en 2008, suite aux 10 ans du programme et la rédaction d'un article de synthèse (Bourlès et al., 2008) que l'intitulé du programme PIRATA a été modifié en "Prediction and Research Moored Array in the Tropical Atlantic". Lors du meeting annuel PIRATA de 2013, le renouvellement du MoU (arrivant à terme en juillet 2014) a été discuté et il a été prolongé par avenant le 25 juillet 2014 pour une durée de 5 ans, soit jusqu'en juillet 2019.

En France, la composante française de l'observatoire PIRATA avait le label ORE (Observatoire de Recherche de l'Environnement) de 2001 à 2009. Fin 2009, PIRATA a été évalué positivement par le CIO-E et obtenu en 2010 le label SOERE (Système d'Observation et d'Expérimentation, sur le long terme, pour la Recherche en Environnement). En 2011, PIRATA a obtenu le label SO-OA (Service d'Observation Océan-Atmosphère), avec les extensions d'une 6ème bouée ATLAS à 6ºS-8ºE et aux mesures des paramètres du CO2 effectuées sur les bouées. PIRATA constitue depuis une des composantes du SOERE CTDO2 (Coriolis-Temps Différé Observations Océaniques). La reconduction du SO national PIRATA a été recommandée en août 2015 suite à une nouvelle évaluation de la CSOA et a également reçu en mai 2015 le « label Sud », suite à une évaluation interne par l'IRD.

L'IRD et Météo-France sont associés depuis 2008 pour la maintenance du réseau PIRATA via une convention renouvelée tous les 4 ans. La présente convention est valide jusqu'à fin 2020.

De 1997 à 2005, PIRATA a consisté principalement dans la maintenance d'un réseau de 10 bouées de mesures météo-océaniques de type ATLAS (les mêmes que celles utilisées dans le Pacifique dans le cadre du programme TOGA ; (voir https://www.pmel.noaa.gov/gtmba/), localisées en des points représentatifs des modes de variabilité climatique en Atlantique Tropical. Depuis 2005, le réseau PIRATA s'est très largement développé. Des propositions d'extension ont été déposées dès 2001-2002 par le Brésil, pour une extension Sud-Ouest, et par l'Afrique du Sud, pour une extension Sud-Est. Dès 2005, trois bouées ATLAS ont été installées dans la région Sud-Ouest du bassin Atlantique Tropical au large de Brésil, prises en charge et maintenues par ce pays. L'extension Sud-Est, présentée par l'Afrique du Sud (université de Cape Town) a été soutenue financièrement pour un an par le BCLME (Benguela Current Large Marine Environment), et une bouée a été déployée, pour une année de test de faisabilité, par l'IRD en Juin 2006 et relevée en Juin 2007 lors des campagnes EGEE3 et EGEE 5. La NOAA/AOML (USA) a également proposé une extension du réseau de bouées ATLAS dans la région Nord et Nord-Est du bassin tropical, portant sur 4 bouées, mise en oeuvre en 2006 et 2007.

L'extension Sud-Est du réseau à 6ºS-8ºE a été redéployée en juin 2013 pendant la campagne PIRATA-FR23, suite au financement d'une 2nde bouée (nécessaire pour son remplacement annuel) par le programme EU PREFACE. Elle est désormais systématiquement remplacée tous les ans par la France, qui s'est engagée en 2008 dans le MoU à maintenir les 6 sites situés à l'est de 23ºW. Le réseau comporte ainsi désormais 18 bouées de mesures météo-océaniques. La répartition spatiale des bouées répond à des objectifs scientifiques précis : le réseau initial de 10 bouées a été établi afin de suivre les deux modes de variabilité principaux (équatorial et méridien) de l'Atlantique tropical ; l'extension Sud-Ouest est nécessaire pour suivre l'influence de la Zone de Convergence de l'Atlantique Sud sur le climat du Nordeste brésilien et la Zone de Convergence Inter-Tropicale Sud ; l'extension Nord-Est est justifiée par le suivi et l'étude des cyclones tropicaux, et l'extension Sud-Est par les interactions entre les régions équatoriale et sud-est du bassin, affectée par de fortes variations interannuelles (de type « Bengula Niño ») le long des côtes africaines.

Depuis fin 2015, les bouées de type ATLAS ont commencé à être progressivement remplacées par des systèmes T-FLEX. En effet, le PMEL de la NOAA a développé un nouveau système de bouées pour remplacer les ATLAS, le système T-FLEX. Testés avec succès dans les océans Indien (dans le cadre de RAMA) et Atlantique (dans le cadre de PIRATA US) de 2011 à 2014, les T-FLEX sont mis en place progressivement pour à terme remplacer tout le parc de bouées ATLAS. Ce système de bouées T-FLEX permet notamment :

  • de mettre en place le long de la ligne de mouillages plus de capteurs océanographiques dont la transmission des données pourra être assurée en temps réel
  • d'assurer une télétransmission des données plus fiable et avec une résolution temporelle plus importante (toutes les heures via Iridium, au lieu de tous les jours via Argos pour les systèmes ATLAS)
  • de doubler des capteurs atmosphériques afin de limiter les pertes d'acquisition éventuelles induites par des défaillances des capteurs
  • d'ajouter des capteurs de courant systématiquement en sub-surface (de type Aquadopp)
  • d'augmenter la sécurisation des capteurs pour limiter la conséquence d'actes éventuels de vandalisme ou de chocs
  • d'assurer une plus grande flexibilité sur le type de capteurs pouvant être ajoutés sur les mouillages (et donc d'être beaucoup moins limité par la technologie des capteurs)
  • d'assurer une plus grande autonomie des mouillages (actuellement de 12 mois, elle pourrait être étendue à 18 mois)
  • d'être également déployé aux plus hautes latitudes (donc pouvant résister à des conditions de surface -vent, houle- plus rigoureuses qu'aux latitudes équatoriales)

PIRATA maintient également des mouillages courantométriques (ADCP) le long de l'équateur, situés à proximité des bouées météo-océaniques, afin de suivre et d'étudier le Sous-Courant Equatorial :

  • un 1er mouillage courantométrique à 23ºW-0ºN, intégré au réseau PIRATA international depuis 2001
  • un 2nd mouillage courantométrique à 10ºW-0ºN, maintenu de 2001 à 2005 en continuité du programme EQUALANT, et depuis 2006, initialement dans le cadre d'EGEE/AMMA et TACE/CLIVAR, maintenu dans le cadre du SO PIRATA
  • un 3ème mouillage courantométrique à 0ºE-0ºN, installé en 2016 lors de la campagne PIRATA-FR26 et financé dans le cadre du programme EU-FP7 PREFACE pour PIRATA (et contribuant aussi au programme EU-H2020 AtlantOS)

Le SO PIRATA a donc la charge de maintenir 6 bouées météo-océaniques (3 ATLAS et 3 T-FLEX aux positions 23ºW-0ºN, 10ºW-0ºN , 0ºE-0ºN, 10ºW-6ºS, 10ºW-10ºS et 6ºS-8ºE) et les 3 mouillages courantométriques du réseau. Depuis 2006, le GEOMAR (Kiel, Allemagne) contribue à la maintenance du mouillage à 23ºW.

Le SO a également la charge de la maintenance des capteurs de paramètres CO2 installés à 6°S-10°W (depuis 2006), 8°N-38°W (depuis 2008) et 6°S-8°E (depuis 2017, installé dans le cadre du programme EU AtlantOS).

A noter que le SO a également maintenu un marégraphe (installé par l'IRD depuis 1989), et une station météorologique (installée en 2003 par l'IRD dans le cadre d'EGEE/AMMA) à São Tomé. Ces appareils ne sont plus maintenus (de fait depuis 2010 suite à des défaillances matérielles, et officiellement depuis 2015 suite à la recommandation de la CSOA).

PIRATA est reconnu au niveau international comme étant un réseau de base pour l'obtention de mesures météo-océaniques dans le cadre des études des processus climatiques saisonniers à interannuels à l'échelle du bassin Atlantique Tropical prévues dans le contexte des programmes internationaux AMMA (Analyse Multidisciplinaires de la Mousson Africaine, de 2005 à 2010), TACE (Tropical Atlantic Climate Experiment, de 2007 à 2011), CLIVAR, OOPC, GOOS, CCOS etc.

Depuis 2013, PIRATA est une composante du programme EU PREFACE (FP7) et depuis 2014 du programme EU AtlantOS (H2020).

Les bouées météo-océaniques du réseau de base sont représentées par des carrés rouges. Les trois bouées de l'extension Sud-Ouest sont colorées en jaune ; les quatre bouées de l'extension Nord-Est sont colorées en orange ; l'extension Sud-Est est représentée par une étoile marron. Les bouées représentées par des étoiles sont des sites caractérisés « Flux Reference » et équipées de radiomètres ondes-longues et de courantomètre. La bouée entourée d'un cercle noir est équipée d'un baromètre (Météo-France). Les carrés bleus représentent les bouées équipées d'un système de mesure du CO2 en continu (IRD). Les bouées entourées d'un cercle orange sont équipées de capteurs d'O2 (à 300m et 500m ; GEOMAR). Trois mouillages courantométriques ADCP, représentés par des losanges, sont également maintenus à l'équateur aux longitudes 23ºW, 10ºW et 0ºE (IRD). Les bouées équipées de systèmes T-FLEX sont entourées d'un cercle bleu.

Le programme PIRATA permet principalement de mettre les mesures à la disposition de la communauté scientifique dès que possible après leur acquisition via internet, c'est-à-dire :

  1. Données en temps réel:
    • Mesures météo-océaniques à l'aide des bouées ATLAS ou T-FLEX: Les bouées sont conçues pour mesurer les variables météorologiques de surface (direction et vitesse du vent, température de l'air et humidité, précipitations et radiations solaires) et hydrologiques entre la surface et 500m, soit 2 capteurs de pressions (à 300m et 500m), 11 capteurs de température (en surface, 20m, 40m, 60m, 80m, 100m, 120m, 140m, 180m, 300m et 500m) et 4 capteurs de conductivité (en surface, 20m, 40m et 120m). Certaines bouées sont également équipées d'un courantomètre (à 12m), de capteurs des paramètres du CO2 en surface (en 3 bouées), et de capteurs de conductivité supplémentaires dans la couche supérieure (à 5m, 10m, 60m et 80m). Les observations moyennées journalières sont transmises par satellite (via Argos pour les ATLAS et Iridium pour les T-Flex) et sont disponibles en quasi temps réel via internet.
  2. Données en temps différé:
    • Les mesures courantométriques des mouillages: Les mouillages ADCP (Acoustic Doppler Current Profiler) mesurent en continu les deux composantes horizontales du courant de la surface à approximativement 300m. Les mesures in situ sont disponibles à hauteur d'une mesure tous les 4m à partir de 16m de profondeur.
    • Mesures océanographiques obtenues à partir des navires: Au cours de chaque campagne océanographique dédiée à PIRATA, des mesures météo-océaniques sont effectuées. Ces mesures sont principalement: les mesures de courants (de 0 à 700m max.) à l'aide du VM-ADCP acoustic Doppler current profilers; les meures de température et de salinité de surface à l'aide d'un thermosalinographe; les mesure météorologiques et de navigation à l'aide des unités d'acquisition; les mesures hydrologiques à l'aide de profil CTDO2 (mesures continues de pression, température, et salinité et oxygène dissous entre la surface et 2000m); les mesure de température entre la surface et approximativement 800m avec les sondes XBT
    • Les mesures en continu des paramètres du CO2 (fugacité CO2, température et pression atmosphérique en surface) nécessaires pour le calcul des flux de CO2 entre l'océan et l'atmosphère, et de l'oxygène dissous en surface.
    • Des mesures de paramètres chimiques (salinité, sels nutritifs, pigments chlorophylliens, paramètres CO2, éventuellement C13/O18) sont également réalisées en surface et lors des profils CTDO2. Ces campagnes constituent des opportunités pour le déploiement de profileurs ARGO et de bouées dérivantes SVP, et la transmission des profils CTD et XBT est effectuée en temps réel à CORIOLIS.
    • (voir le serveur ftp).

La maintenance du réseau sous-entend la mise en oeuvre (côté français) d'au moins une campagne océanographique dédiée par an, et à ce jour 27 campagnes ont été réalisées depuis 1997 (de 2005 à 2007, les campagnes PIRATA ont été associées aux campagnes du programme EGEE, volet océanographique du programme international AMMA). En France, les problèmes rencontrés pour maintenir le réseau des 6 bouées du réseau PIRATA sont de deux ordres :

  1. les problèmes liés au vandalisme dans le Golfe de Guinée (en raison des activités de pêches; voir http://www.brest.ird.fr/actualites/EGEE-3_bouees.htm). Ces problèmes se sont nettement atténués depuis 2008.
  2. les problèmes liés aux actions de piraterie dans le Golfe de Guinée, notamment depuis 2014. Ainsi, les campagnes ne peuvent plus se faire avec escale(s) dans les ports de la région, et doivent être réalisées depuis 2015 en un seul leg de 40 jours. Ces actes de piraterie empêchent également toute activité scientifique sur l'ensemble de la région nord-est du Golfe de Guinée

PIRATA a d'ores et déjà permis le suivi de nombreuses études menées au sein de plusieurs laboratoires français, portant sur les flux air-mer, les processus océaniques et les techniques d'assimilation de données, notamment dans le cadre du projet MERCATOR.

Références:

Servain J., A. Busalacchi, A. Moura, M. McPhaden, G. Reverdin, M. Vianna, & S. Zebiak: A Pilot Research Moored Array in the Tropical Atlantic "PIRATA"; The Bulletin of American Meteorological Society. 79, 2019-2031, 1998.

Bourlès, B., A. J. Busalacchi, E. Campos, F. Hernandez, R. Lumpkin, M.J. McPhaden, A.D. Moura, P. Nobre, S. Planton, J. Servain & J. Trotte, PIRATA (Pilot Research Moored Array in the Tropical Atlantic): Accomplishments of PIRATA: 1997-2005, Status and perspectives, Document prepared for a PIRATA review by CLIVAR -AIP - and OOPC, 89pp, avril 2006.

Bourlès, B., R. Lumpkin, M.J. McPhaden, F. Hernandez, P. Nobre, E. Campos, L.Yu, S. Planton, A.J. Busalacchi, A.D. Moura, J. Servain, and J. Trotte, The PIRATA program: history and accomplishments of the 10 first years tropical Atlantic observing system's backbone, Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society, 89(8), 1111-1125, doi/10.1175/2008BAMS2462.1, 2008.

Bibliographie:

Une liste de références PIRATA.

Pour plus d'informations, consulter le Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society cover story d'Août 2008.

PIRATA

Prediction and Research Moored Array in the Tropical Atlantic

About PIRATA

The experimental program PIRATA (initially « Pilot Research moored Array in the Tropical Atlantic » and named « Prediction and Research Moored Array in the Tropical Atlantic » from 2008) has been implemented in 1997 in the Tropical Atlantic Ocean (Servain et al. 1998). It has been launched in the framework of the international program CLIVAR (CLImatic VARiability and predictability) and implies scientific teams from three countries: France (IRD, in charge of coordination and oceanic cruises, Météo France, with contributions by IFREMER and CNRS/INSU), Brazil (DHN and INPE) and USA (NOAA/PMEL). Financial supports for the program are from the IRD, Météo France, and Observatoire Midi-Pyrénées/Université Paul Sabatier.

The more specific goals of the PIRATA program are:

  1. What are the forcing and coupling mechanisms between the atmospheric and oceanic components on the Tropical Atlantic in particular, what are the Sea Surface Temperature (SST)'s control mechanisms and what are those of heat fluxes?
  2. What are the influences of these heat fluxes (and of quantities of movement: the wind) on the variability (position and intensity) of the trade winds Inter-Tropical Convergence Zone (ITCZ) and on the convective systems of the Gulf of Guinea (which is of interest to the West African monsoon), and on those of the western region of the basin (which is of interest to rainfall over South America and to hurricanes over West Indies)?
  3. What is the relationship between the variability of the SST and that of the heat content of the Tropical Atlantic, and what is its influence on the various variability modes in this region? In particular, what is the dynamic link between the north and south poles of the meridian variability mode of the Atlantic and between it and the equatorial mode?
  4. What are the teleconnections and their mechanisms between the variability in the Tropical Atlantic region and that in other regions (El Niño Southern Oscillation -ENSO-, North Atlantic Oscillation -NAO-, South Atlantic variability etc.)?

In this framework, the overarching goals of PIRATA are to:

  • improve the description of the intra-seasonal to interannual variability in the atmospheric and oceanic (from the surface down to 500m depth) boundary layers in the tropical Atlantic;
  • improve our understanding of the relative contributions of air-sea fluxes and ocean dynamics to variability in sea surface temperature (SST) and sub-surface heat content at intra-seasonal to interannual time scales;
  • provide a set of data useful for developing and improving the predictive models of the ocean-atmosphere coupled system;
  • document interactions between tropical Atlantic climate and variability outside the region, (e.g. ENSO or the North Atlantic Oscillation);
  • maintain (and, if possible, enhance) an array of moored oceanic buoys and collect and transmit a set of oceanic and atmospheric data, via satellite in real-time, to monitor and study the upper ocean and atmosphere of the tropical Atlantic, and provide in situ data to operational systems.

After a "pilot phase" from 1997 to 2001, the institutions in the three supporting countries decided to extend the array maintenance for a 5-year "consolidation phase" to allow for a meaningful demonstration that the data would contribute significantly to both scientific research and operational applications. This "consolidation phase" has been extended until February 2008. A PIRATA Resources Board (PRB) has been established in 1999 to answer to the objectives of the commitments (financial, human, vessel time...) signed between involved institutions. A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) has been officially signed in August 2001 by the institutions representatives. This MoU commited the responsability of partners during the whole consolidation phase of PIRATA (2001-2006 then 2008). From 2006 to 2008, after a very positive scientific evaluation of the PIRATA program by CLIVAR and OOPC (established from the document : Bourlès et al., 2006), a new Memorandum of Understanding, has been written and signed by the four organisms (France: IRD and Météo-France ; Brazil: INPE ; and USA: NOAA) the 2nd February, 2009 during the PIRATA 14 meeting organized in Toulouse (see The meeting PIRATA-14 report), so ensuring the maintenance of the program until 2013. After 10 successful years of the program, a synthesis paper has been published in 2008 (Bourlès et al., 2008) and the PIRATA initial denomination has been modified in "Prediction and Research Moored Array in the Tropical Atlantic".

During the yearly PIRATA meeting in 2013, the MoU (ending in July 2014) has been discussed and the MoU has been extended for an additional five-year period (i.e. until July 2019) through an amendment.

The French component of PIRATA was, from 2001 to 2009, recognized as a national ORE (Environment Research Observatory) by INSU/CNRS. In late 2009, PIRATA has been positively reviewed by CIOE and obtained in 2010 the new SOERE label (System of Observation and Experimentation, on the long term, for Environmental Reseach). In 2011, PIRATA-France got the national label SO-OA (Service d'Observation Océan-Atmosphère), and included the ATLAS buoy at 6°S-8°E along with the CO2 parameters measurements obtained on the buoys. PIRATA is now part of the SOERE CTDO2 (Coriolis-Temps Différé Observations Océaniques). The PIRATA continuation as a national SO has been recommended in August 2015 after a new review by CSOA and also got in May 2015 the South label after an internal review by IRD. From 2008, IRD and Meteo-France are associated for maintaining the PIRATA network through a convention, renewed every 4 years (the present convention is running until late 2020).

From 1997 to 2005, PIRATA mainly consisted in the servicing of an observation network of 10 Autonomous Temperature Line Acquisition System (ATLAS) moored buoys (similar to the ones used in the tropical Pacific in the framework of the TOGA program ; (see http://www.pmel.noaa.gov/tao). These 10 meteorological and oceanic buoys are localized in order to resolve the two main modes of tropical Atlantic climate variability: the equatorial mode and the meridional mode. From 2005, the PIRATA network largely extended. As early as 2001-2002, a PIRATA Southwest Extension has been proposed by Brazil, and a Southeastern Extension has been proposed by South-Africa. In 2005, three ATLAS buoys have been deployed in the SouthWestern region of the Tropical Atlantic basin, off Brazil, under the responsibility of this country. The Southeastern Extension, presented by South Africa (CapTown University) and funded for a one-year test period by the BCLME (Benguela Current Large Marine Environment) program, has been implemented in June 2006 and retrieved in June 2007 by IRD, during the EGEE3 and EGEE 5 cruises. NOAA/AOML (USA) also proposed an extension of the ATLAS buoys network in the Northern and Northeastern regions of the Tropical basin, with 4 buoys deployed in 2006 and 2007.

The Southeastern Extension at 60°S-8°E has been re-deployed un June 2013 during the PIRATA FR23 cruise, thanks to a 2nd buoy funding (needed for its yearly replacing) by the EU PREFACE program. This buoy is now replaced yearly by the French team, which committed in 2008 through the MoU to maintain the 6 buoys located east of 23°W. Thus, the PIRATA network consists in 18 meteo-oceanographic buoys. The spatial distribution of the buoys has been chosen through precise scientific objectives: the initial 10 buoys network was established to monitor the two main variability modes (equatorial and meridional) of the tropical Atlantic; the South-West Extension is needed to monitor the influence of the South Atlantic Convergence Zone on the Brazil Nordeste climate and the Southern Inter-tropical Convergence zone; the North-East Extension is justified to monitor and study the tropical hurricanes; and the South-East Extension is justified to study the interactions between the equatorial and southeastern regions of the basin, affected by strong interannual variations (as Benguela Niño) along the African coasts.

Since late 2015, ATLAS buoys type are progressively replaced ty T-FLEX systems.

NOAA/PMEL has developed a new buoy system to replace the ATLAS, the T-FLEX system, that has been successfully tested from 2011 to 2014 in the Indian (in the frame of RAMA) and Atlantic (in the frame of PIRATA-US) Oceans, ahd that will progressively replace the whole ATLAS fleet. This T-FLEX system allows:

  • to deploy more oceanographic sensors along the mooring line with data transmission in real time;
  • to ensure more reliable data transmission with higher time resolution (every hour with Iridium instead daily with Argos);
  • to double atmospheric sensors in order to reduce data acquisition loss induced by sensors failure;
  • to add systematically current sensors at subsurface (Aquadopp);
  • to increase the sensors security in order to limit the impact of eventual vandalism actions or chocks;
  • to ensure a higher flexibility of the sensors types that could be added along the moorings (so to be less limited by sensors technology);
  • to ensure a longer autonomy of moorings (that could be extended up to 18 months)
  • to also be deployed at higher latitudes (so able to resist to rougher surface conditions -wind, waves- than in equatorial regions).

PIRATA also maintains currentmeter moorings (ADCP) along the equator, located close to meteo-oceanic buoys, in order to monitor and study the Equatorial Under-Current:

  • the 1st currentmeter mooring is located at 23°W-0°N, and is part of the international PIRATA network from 2001;
  • the 2nd one is located at 10°W-0°N, maintained from 2001 to 2005 in continuity with the EQUALANT program, and from 2006, initialy installed in the framework of EGEE/AMMA and TACE/CLIVAR, maintained by PIRATA-France ;
  • the 3rd one is located at 0°E-0°N and has been installed in 2016 during the PIRATA FR26 cruise; it was funded by the EU-FP7 PREFACE program for PIRATA (and contributing to the EU-H2020 AtlantOS program too).

The French SO PIRATA is thus in charge to maintain 6 meteo-oceanic buoys (3 ATLAS and 3 T-FLEX in April 2017, at 23°W-0°N, 10°W-0°N , 0°E-0°N, 10°W-6°S, 10°W-10°S and 6°S-8°E) et the 3 currentmeter moorings of the network. Since 2006, the GEOMAR (Kiel, Germany) contributes to the ADCP servicing at 23°W.

The French SO is also in charge to maintain the CO2 parameters sensors installed at 6°S-10°W (from 2006), 8°N-38°W (from 2008) and 6°S-8°E (from 2017, installed in the framework of the EU programme AtlantOS).

The SO PIRATA also maintained a tide-gauge (installed by IRD in 1989) and a meteorologica station (installed in 2003 by IRD in the frame of EGEE/AMMA) at São Tomé. These devices are not any more maintained (de facto since 2010 after sensors failures, and officially since 2015 following a CSOA recommendation).

PIRATA is now recognized at an international level as the backbone network for meteo-oceanic measurements needed for studies related to seasonal to decadal climatic processes at the Tropical Atlantic basin scale, planed in the framework of international programs as AMMA (African Monsoon Multidisciplinary Analysis, 2005-2010), TACE (Tropical Atlantic Climate Experiment, 2007-2011), CLIVAR, OOPC, GOOS, CCOS etc.

PIRATA is one component of the EU PREFACE (FP7) program since 2013 and of the EU AtlantOS (H2020) program since 2014.

The meteo-oceanographic buoys of the PIRATA backbone of ATLAS buoys (red), Northeast Extension (orange), Southwest Extension (yellow), Southeast Extension pilot project (brown). Stars represent the Flux Reference sites, where buoys are equipped with longwave radiometer & currentmeter. Black circle buoy is equipped with a barometer (Meteo-France). Blue squares are buoys with CO2 sensors (IRD).Orange circles are buoys with O2 sensors (at 300m & 500m; GEOMAR). The three ADCP moorings are represented by diamonds (at 23°W, 10°W and 0°E, along the equator; IRD). T-Flex systems are surrounded by a blue circle.

The PIRATA program provides to the scientific community a free access to many data, summarized as follows:

  1. Real time data:
    • Meteo-oceanic measurements using ATLAS buoys: The ATLAS or T-FLEX buoys are designed to measure surface meteorological variables (wind direction and speed, air temperature and humidity, rainfall and solar radiation) and hydrological sensors between the surface and 500m, namely 2 pressure sensors (at 300m and 500m), 11 temperature sensors (at the surface, 20m, 40m, 60m, 80m, 100m, 120m, 140m, 180m, 300m and 500m) and 4 conductivity sensors (at the surface, 20m, 40m and 120m).
    • Some buoys are also equipped with currentmeter (at 12m), surface CO2 parameters sensors (at 3 buoys), and additional conductivity sensors in the upper layer (at 5m, 10m, 60m et 80m). The mean daily observations are transmitted by satellite (via Argos for ATLAS and via Iridium for T-FLEX) and are available in near real-time via Internet.
    • (see the following website).

  2. Delayed data:
    • Current-meter measurements from moorings: ADCP (Acoustic Doppler Current Profiler) mooring continuously measures the two horizontal components of the current, from the surface to approximately 300m. The in situ measurements are available at a rate of one measurement every 4m from a depth of 16m.
    • Oceanographic measurements obtained from ships: During each oceanographic campaign dedicated to PIRATA, meteo-oceanic measurements are carried out, which are principally : Current measurements (from 0 to 700m max.) using VM-ADCP acoustic Doppler current profilers; Surface temperature and salinity measurements using a thermosalinograph; Meteorological and navigational measurements using data acquisition units; Hydrological measurements with CTDO2 profiles (continuous pressure, temperature and salinity measurements between the surface and 2000m); Temperature measurements between the surface and approximately 800m with XBT probes.
    • Continuous measurements of CO2 parameters (CO2 fugacity, temperature and atmospheric pressure at the surface) needed for calculating CO2 fluxes between ocean and atmosphere, along with dissolved oxygen at the surface.
    • Measurements of chemical parameters (salinity, nutrients, chlorophyl pigments, CO2 parameters, eventually C13/O18) are also carried out at the surface and during CTDO2 profiles. Dedicated cruises are also opportunities for the deployment of ARGO profilers and surface SVP drifters, and CTD & XBT profiles data are transmitted in real time to CORIOLIS.
    • (see the ftp server).

The PIRATA network maintenance induces the realization (from the French side) of at least one dedicated oceanographic cruise per year, and at now 27 cruises have been carried out from 1997 (from 2005 to 2007, PIRATA cruises were associated to the cruises of the EGEE program, oceanographic part of the international AMMA program). In France, the maintenance of the 6 PIRATA network buoys located east of 23°W has to deal with two kinds of problems: 1) the problems due to vandalim in the Gulf of Guinea (linked to fishery activities; see http://www.brest.ird.fr/actualites/EGEE-3_bouees.htm), these problems considerably weakened from 2008, and 2) the problems due to piracy activitiy in the Gulf of Guinea, mostly from 2014. No more calls are allowed in any regional port, and the cruises are done in one leg (40 days) since 2015. Piracy also prevent us any research activity over the whole Northeastern part of the Gulf of Guinea.

PIRATA already allowed numerous studies carried out within several French laboratories, about air-sea fluxes, oceanic processes, and also data assimilation techniques, notably in the framework of the MERCATOR project.

References :

Servain J., A. Busalacchi, A. Moura, M. McPhaden, G. Reverdin, M. Vianna, & S. Zebiak: A Pilot Research Moored Array in the Tropical Atlantic "PIRATA" ; The Bulletin of American Meteorological Society. 79, 2019-2031, 1998.

Bourlès, B., A. J. Busalacchi, E. Campos, F. Hernandez, R. Lumpkin, M.J. McPhaden, A.D. Moura, P. Nobre, S. Planton, J. Servain & J. Trotte, PIRATA (Pilot Research Moored Array in the Tropical Atlantic): Accomplishments of PIRATA: 1997-2005, Status and perspectives, Document prepared for a PIRATA review by CLIVAR -AIP - and OOPC, 89pp, avril 2006.

Bourlès, B., R. Lumpkin, M.J. McPhaden, F. Hernandez, P. Nobre, E. Campos, L.Yu, S. Planton, A.J. Busalacchi, A.D. Moura, J. Servain, and J. Trotte, The PIRATA program: history and accomplishments of the 10 first years tropical Atlantic observing system's backbone, Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society, 89(8), 1111-1125, doi/10.1175/2008BAMS2462.1, 2008.